HOME PAGE

Home Page   | Seat Reviews  | United Airlines

Read the latest Customer Reviews and opinions about comfort standards for United Airlines First Class, Business Class seats and Economy Class seats

Seat Reviews

Airlines A-B
Aer Lingus Aeroflot Aerolineas Argentinas AeroMexico AirAsiaX Air Astana Air Berlin Air Canada Air China Air Europa Air France Air Greenland Air India Air Mauritius Air New Zealand Air Seychelles Air Tahiti Nui Alitalia ANA American Airlines Arik Air Asiana Airlines Austrian Azerbaijan Airlines British Airways bmi British Midland Brussels Airlines
Airlines C-K
Cathay Pacific China Airlines China Eastern China Southern Continental Airlines Delta Air Lines Dragonair Edelweiss Air Egyptair El Al Emirates Ethiopian Airlines Etihad Airways EVA Air Finnair Garuda Indonesia Gulf Air Hainan Airlines Hong Kong Airlines Iberia Icelandair Japan Airlines Jet Airways Jetstar Airways Kenya Airways Kingfisher Airlines KLM Korean Air
Airlines L-Z
LAN Airlines LOT Polish Airlines Lufthansa Malaysia Airlines Mexicana Airlines Northwest Airlines Oman Air OpenSkies Pakistan Intl Philippine Airlines Qantas Airways Qatar Airways Royal Air Maroc Royal Brunei Airlines Royal Jordanian Saudi Arabian Airlines Singapore Airlines South African Airways SriLankan Airlines Swiss Intl TAM Airlines Thai Airways Transaero Airlines Turkish Airlines United Airlines US Airways Vietnam Airlines Virgin Atlantic Virgin Australia

 
Read Customer Reviews
Economy Class Seat reviews
Comfort SELECT
Watch Airline Videos
Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter

UNITED AIRLINES First Class and Business Class Seat reviews




 

 

REVIEWS

1 2 3 4      
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   5 June 2010  by Chris Williamson

Aircraft

Boeing 767-300

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Who came up with this? At least in the old days, you could ignore whatever your seatmate was watching, but to spend half the night awake because there is no visual separation from your neighbor's screen is terrible!



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   5 February 2010  by Chris McMahon

Aircraft

Boeing 767

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I thought that the lie flat business class seats are great. The only downside may be the lack of storage for anything. AVOD worked perfectly and many choices of entertainment. Headsets comfortable and cancelled most noise. The seat is wide, reclines and reverts with a one touch button. There is not a tremendous amount of privacy. My seat on both legs faced backwards which is not a problem except I was scolded for trying to use the forward first class toilet when I thought that I was heading towards the rear of the aircraft. Overall, great value for an upgrade. Not on par with Most Asian and European business class product but excellent value.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   5 February 2010  by Graham Small

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Dubai to Washington Dulles and back, seats 12J going, 11J coming back. Terrible, terrible flights. Seats really uncomfortable, dont go flat and very hard - don't make the mistake of getting a window seat, as when everyone reclines and tries to sleep, there is no way to get out to the aisle without climbing over the middle of the person in the aisle seat. Service was terrible and food was tasteless.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   5 February 2010  by Kristoffer Godø

Aircraft

Boeing 747

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Old style seat Upper deck. IFE did not have an on-demand movie selection, which is a bare minimum, even for economy class. I'm glad these seats are on its way out, as they were way behind of many other carriers. However, I had a good sleep and enjoyed the meals.


UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   5 February 2010  by Ash Nallawalla

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I found my feet hanging off the end while in reclining mode. I missed the footrest of the older seats. Lying flat on my back is not my sleeping position but this position squashed my arms so it wasn't a comfortable posture. Flat actually feels like it is more than 180 degrees and was a little unsettling, but it is easy to adjust in small increments. Not having any storage at arms length was annoying. Two steps forward and one back. The fold-out tray table was sticky, making it hard to pull it towards me. I did the SYD-LAX leg facing the rear - for rear-facing aisle seats there is no privacy as you are staring at forward-facing people on the other side.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   5 February 2010  by Greg Gottlieb

Aircraft

B747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

United really messed up the new configuration. It's 2-4-2 across, which means the seats are extremely narrow. As other reviewers comment, your shoulders will be jammed in and you will bang against the sides of the seat when sleeping. Further, there's only one armrest for you and your neighbor. It's like being in coach. You can't both have your elbows on the armrest. And this is business class for a trans- pacific flight?



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   5 February 2010  by Ralph Nappi

Aircraft

Boeing 767-300

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

DME-IAD newer lie flat business class seats, 8A. When flat, surprisingly comfortable. Screens very large, controls easy. Movie options weak and like most UA equipment, sound system poor. Layout of pod is not as good as it could be considering UA has been late to instal lie flat business class seat.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   1 October 2009  by Kevin Wheeler

Aircraft

Boeing 747

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The USB ports and normal AC power points are excellent and well placed. These seats have several amazing deficiencies and I always wonder who designs them? There is no place to store anything. If you are using your laptop and food arrives, the laptop has to be placed on the floor or restowed in your baggage. Even putting a paperback book down becomes an issue unless you are in level flight. Anything placed on the small ledge provided falls off during takeoff or landing or turbulence. Once food or beverages arrive, magazines, books, mobile phones, etc. are all in the way with nowhere to go. A small net bag or a pouch somewhere would have been simple, cheap and practical. They are quite narrow (obviously so they could cram in another 2-3 seats per cabin) which makes sleeping in a comfortable way difficult. Once settled in, it's hard to rollover or find a place for your arms. The movie screens are large and bright but there is no separation or viewing privacy from your neighbor's screen. I was constantly getting distracted by his movie during a recent flight and finally just gave up watching mine and went to sleep. The upstairs bulkhead seats are even more cramped and should be avoided. When sitting upstairs in rear-facing aisle seats the galley lights are in your face all night, as are the reading lights of passengers facing you. Very annoying. Normally I am fortunate to get an upgrade and am grateful for that. But if I were spending money for business class I would most likely choose Singapore or Air New Zealand who have both mastered business class comfort, service and seat design.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   1 October 2009  by David Wojtkowski

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

FRA-SFO. Worst first class I've flown. Old tired seats - they call them private suites but there's nothing private about them. Fairly comfortable to sit in but not great sleeping. No cushioned fitted sheet like standard on EK and CX. Not even a duvet - just a blanket. No VOD - about 9 channels, only a few that ever seemed to work of continuous streaming movies and the a personal video player at the seat all on about a 5 inch screen.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   1 October 2009  by Brian Collins

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

BKK-NRT-ORD in new United flat seat. Seat works well and is comfortable enough to get decent sleep. I sat in the upper deck, where the seats are slightly shorter than the main deck - I did not have an issue with the length upstairs but very tall people might. I had no problem getting out of the window seat while my neighbor slept, but it helps to lower your own footrest. The seat has one compartment for glasses or water bottle and one for a medium sized book or amenity kit. The B767 version of the seat only has the eyeglass/water bottle holder, as the seat is narrower.) The seats have no privacy screen and are not pods, plus the alternating forward/rear facing cuts down on privacy as well. IFE is great, with a very large & clear screen, with plenty of movie & TV selections.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   1 October 2009  by Michael Stucky

Aircraft

B-747

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

SFO-FRA in the new biz class seats. We were in 15 AC which are rear-facing seats behind the the exit doors. Quite a nice experience, especially for a US airline. Seats offer enough room to work, relax and sleep and the screens are big. Service was nice, they let us sleep and were there when we needed them. These seats are an improvement to the old ones. Some more space to stow some personal items would be nice, but it was still OK.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   1 October 2009  by Michael Stucky

Aircraft

B-747

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Nnew first class cabin in seats 4 HK. Though the seats are long and wide enough and there's enough space to store items, you don't get a first class feeling. The whole ambiance is on the cheaper side. There's a lot of plastic and both food and wine selection are more at biz class level. IFE is quite good and offers a wide selection of movies, TV programs and music.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   1 October 2009  by Brian Collins

Aircraft

Boeing 767-300

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seats are fully flat, but despite the pod-like design, there is no more privacy with these seats than any other typical 2x2x2 seating arrangement. In fact, the rear-front- rear facing arrangement means you are looking almost directly at the passenger seated across the aisle. The inclusion of the rear-facing seats does nothing for the passenger (unlike BA's old rear-facing alignment), but seems to just have been a convenience for UA. The seat is comfortable for sleeping / sitting. IFE was a highlight, with a huge selection of movies, audio, and TV.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   17 July 2009  by M Berdell

Aircraft

Boeing 767

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

New Business Class seat. The seat was flat when fully reclined. Drop down arm rest made sleeping comfortable on 11 hour flight. Large flat screen AVOD was a plus. Movie selection average. Power supply easy to access for a laptop. Because of alternative reverse seating, privacy was sub-par. Food was terrible.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   17 July 2009  by C Jones

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

New business class in upstairs cabin. Upstairs seats are a few inches shorter than the same seats downstairs. I was able to sleep quite comfortably. While the seats are narrow, armrests do fold down to allow more width. In a window seat, I was able to step over the aisle seat occupant without disrupting him while in the fully flat position. The entertainment selection was good, screen quite large and a clear picture. My only real gripe is that there was no storage for carry-ons let alone a book or a bottle of water.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   17 July 2009  by E Hutchins

Aircraft

B767

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

LHRORD in 8K. I still haven’t decided whether I like the new UA business seat. It does recline flat, that’s the good point. But there is practically no storage for glasses, magazines, books or anything else you may have. It is very narrow when reclined flat, if you weigh more than 180 pounds your shoulders will be firmly pressed against each side. You are very close to the person beside you and there’s no screen for separation. Make sure you get an aisle. Some of the seats face the rear which doesn’t bother me. AVOD is excellent, big screen and decent headsets.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   17 July 2009  by Brandon Hess

Aircraft

Boeing 767

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

New seats are very comfortable but can use a lot more storage. IFE is Okay and needs to be updated. Also the Red Carpet Club in IAD can use some "upkeep".



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   14 May 2009  by Johannas Wuettenbach

Aircraft

B747

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The seats lie 180 degrees flat, unlike Lufthansa where they are flat, but tilted downward, so you are always falling out of your seat. There was plenty of space and workspace. The personal entertainment system easy to use and one of the largest screens. The service was great as well.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   14 May 2009  by Raymond Bate

Aircraft

Boeing 767

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Used miles for a UA First Class ticket LHR-ORD-LHR. The new product is much better than the old. Seat privacy is good, plenty of storage and pretty comfortable. New AVOD worked well although the content could be improved.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   14 May 2009  by M Smythe

Aircraft

B767

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

ORD-LHR-ORD. I found the comfort to be better than Air Canada and LH. I was able to get the seat comfortable for watching movies on the way back. The width seemed fine for a medium build. The overhead storage was more then enough for my roll-on and laptop bag. My only nit with the new seats is there is nowhere to put small extras like eye glass case, or bottle water.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   30 April 2009  by P Lewis

Aircraft

B767-300

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

LHR-ORD-LHR in the new first class seat. Plenty of personal space and storage, and reasonable privacy. Seats are angled into the cabin rather than out, so don't offer as much privacy as some other airlines with the same style of 1st class product. Seat cushion is soft and comfortable to sleep on. IFE very good and didn't crash, food pretty average unfortunately, but cabin crew great. No curtain to business cabin, some sound does filter through, and bring your own noise cancelling headphones - the ones United provide are useless.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   30 April 2009  by Mark Pimble

Aircraft

Boeing 767-300

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

We had the opportunity to try the United Business Class on a recent trip to Frankfurt. The seat is comfortable. United has improved the overhead bins as well, so the new 767 is much less of a burden for travelers with regular-size carry-on luggage. Granted, the space for your feet in the lie-flat position is a bit tight. We both slept comfortably for several hours. The new seats are a vast improvement over the old Business Class seats. In fact, we flew home on a 777 with the old business seats - the difference was jarring.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   18 February 2009  by Jim Capps

Aircraft

Boeing 747

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Had the opportunity to fly both First and Business in December due to an upgrade not clearing. The new first config is far superior to the old product. I found it private and comfortable. The new business product is superior to the old. The only complaint is that the aisle seats feel very exposed with the arm rest down in comparison to other lie flat business products.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   6 January 2009  by Stanley Sidorowicz

Aircraft

Boeing 767-300ER

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

IAD-ORD. Half of the Business Class is backwards. Absolutely no storage in seats. The beds are too short for someone that is 5'10" and over. IFE excellent, but iPod and iPhone connection did not work. The video screens are nice. The drop down armrests are good, but that does not help much in width. Legroom good, but the beds are too short. When in a flat position, the feet are squished in the partition, and absolutely no room to stretch your arms and legs. The LED in seat reading light is good with 2 lighting intensities, but cant used when fully upright. Poorly positioned reading lamp. The cushions are rocks. I cannot believe that United Airlines came up with this product, and did not put it to the test. They think they have a world class product. That design also reduced seating capacity and made the seats more uncomfortable. The older Business class are a little better than the new ones. The older interior looks better. The overhead bins should either be old or new, not mixed. The way to redesign the seats is to stagger them. Everybody would face forward. Seats would be wider with better privacy, storage and more legroom without reducing business class capacity. I just don't understand why United Airlines could not think outside the box.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   6 January 2009  by Eric Hutchins

Aircraft

Boeing 767

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

LHRORD on the new seat type in 6A. Okay but nothing extraordinary. Narrow shoulders when flat - no storage. It generally seemed confined. Excellent AV. I usually don't use it but did on this flight. Business class toilet located at front of economy, so was usually full.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   3 January 2009  by Jack Remington

Aircraft

Boeing 767

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The new business “lie-flat” class seats on the international 767's (to also be installed on the international 777’s and 747’s) are horrible. They are claustrophobic and one cannot store anything on the floor in front during takeoff and landing. I am a normal sized male and I cannot lie flat on my back when the bed is laid out. This was a horrible, horrible decision on the part of United.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   3 January 2009  by A Panteleon

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Beijing to Chicago (ORD). Seat only reclines at most 140 degrees, and it's being controlled using 3 plastic switches - no electronics offered in order to give the full experience of a decent business class seat. Then, there is no power on the seat. The adapter sells for 120$ - per the flight attendant . The same flight attendant - not providing great service themselves - told me that "I'd better sleep" , emphasizing that there is not much offered compared to other airlines. The seat TV is much smaller than other airlines and the user cannot select when to start and stop the movie, he has to tune into the right time. Overall, this has been the worst business class travel experience I have had and I will avoid United at all costs in the near or far future.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   2 January 2009  by Steven Bruett

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

DEN-LHR. Broken, dirty seat, would not stay in position, you have to pull the footrest up manually. Massage function not working, no space for eyeglasses when you want to sleep.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   2 January 2009  by David Hope

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The seat does not fully lie flat. If you have a window seat and you want to go the toilet you have to climb over the passenger next to you, which can get annoying. The business class service on the aircraft was the worst I have ever experienced, the food was terrible, the service was terrible. The staff were more interested in talking to each other than dealing with customers.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   1 January 2009  by Mark Taylor

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

UA takes the prize for having the lamest international business class and the slowest in refurbishing its fleet of 91 international widebodies - 14 months after it started its introduction of new flatbed seats, only 16 out of 91 planes have been refurbished. None of these refurbished planes is a 777, which dominate the Asian and European flights out of Washington/Dulles. At this rate, it will take UA five years to finish the upgrade, while NW has had lie-flat seats in business for the past six years. With outdated seats of only 55-inches of pitch, 155 degrees recline, a tight 2-3-2 row on 777s, poor functioning controls, no AVOD, and a video screen barely larger than my iphone's, UA's product is simply abysmal.





 

REVIEWS

1 2 3 4      
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review




Earlier reviews have been archived (prior to the date of last review above).

 















top

back to top



HOME PAGE

With a unique knowledge of airline seats, 24 years of airline industry experience, and supported by millions of customer reviews and seat ratings, Skytrax know Your Comfort Counts ..... and use our knowledge to help you find the Best seats in the cabin to have a most enjoyable trip.

Home Page

Feedback

Seat Reviews

Site Map

Terms & Conditions

 

© 1999-2014 Skytrax. All rights reserved.