etihad aircraft

Etihad Airways receives Certified 5-Star Airline award


By Peter Miller, Skytrax

Etihad Airways has become the ninth airline worldwide to achieve the Certified 5-Star Airline rating from Skytrax, the international air transport rating organisation.

When an airline achieves Certified 5-Star Airline rating, Skytrax note that their customer’s expectations become even more demanding, and the pressure on Etihad Airways will increase to deliver the high quality 5-Star standards to each and every customer on a most consistent basis.

In First class, Etihad Airways sets a benchmark for product excellence, and their business class product and service includes a distinctive approach to seat design and dining quality. In Economy class, good standards of product and service attention were noted, and because this cabin is where most customers will experience Etihad Airways, Skytrax place great emphasis on it’s quality performance.

In First class, Etihad Airways sets a benchmark for product excellence

Across the airport environment, Etihad Airways premium lounges at Abu Dhabi Airport have been redesigned for First and Business Class, and the airline continues to expand their lounge concept at key network airports, helping to develop product consistency and their service culture. In Abu Dhabi, there have been efforts to increase the presence of ground staff to smooth the transfer process, and Skytrax expect standards to improve further when the airline moves to the new Midfield Terminal at Abu Dhabi in the next couple of years.

» Visit Etihad Airways website

5-Star Certified Airlines

The Certified 5-Star Airline rating is a global Quality recognition that is awarded to an airline providing exceptional front-line Quality performance to its customers. There are nine Certified 5-Star Airlines as of October 2016: Qatar Airways, Singapore Airlines, Asiana Airlines, Cathay Pacific, ANA All Nippon Airways, Hainan Airlines, Garuda Indonesia, EVA Air and Etihad Airways.

The 5-Star Airline rating recognises high standards of Airport and on-board product provided by an airline to customers, together with consistent and high standards of front-line staff service across the airport and on-board service environments.

About Skytrax Airline Rating

World Airline Rating is the global airline quality ranking programme operated by Skytrax, the international air transport rating organisation and a leading authority on airline quality standards. Certified Airline Ratings classify airlines by the quality of front-line product and staff service they provide to customers, and are recognised as a global benchmark of airline standards. Established in 1989, Skytrax is based in London, United Kingdom.

Using an internationally recognised evaluation system to assess quality, Skytrax provide the world airline industry with a professional, unified Quality classification system that is an established and respected symbol of airline standards.

Certified Airline Rating is based on in-depth quality analysis of an airline’s customer-facing Product and Service standards, with a well-established approach providing accuracy, and an objective ranking system using global quality measurements.

As part of the process to determine and award an Airline Star Rating, Skytrax carry out detailed Quality analysis across up to 800 different areas of airline product and service delivery for the on-board and home-base Airport environments. Certified Airline Ratings are not related to any type of customer reviews or passenger surveys.

» View the Etihad Airways 5-Star Airline Rating

By Skytrax

Skytrax, the International air transport rating organisation, was established in 1989, and is based in London, UK. The World Airline and Airport Star Rating programme classifies airlines and airports by the quality of product and staff service standards.

Sign up for updates with the Skytrax Newsletter